Ross Munro Media Award


The Ross Munro Media Award was initiated in 2002 by the Conference of Defence Associations in concert with the Canadian Global Affairs Institute. Its purpose is to recognize annually one Canadian journalist who has made an outstanding contribution to the general public’s understanding of issues relating to Canada’s defence and security.




OTTAWAONJANUARY 27th, 2017 – The Conference of Defence Associations and the CDA Institute are pleased to announce that, in a unanimous decision by a selection committee of 7 members, CTV Richard Madan has been selected as the recipient of the CDA Institute Ross Munro Media Award for 2016.

“Canadian journalists continue to play a crucial role in our open society, and we are delighted that this year’s recipient, Richard Madan, has gained the respect and recognition of the community as he covered important security and defence issues, and continues in the best example set by Ross Munro,” says Denis Rouleau, Chair of the Conference of Defence Associations and Chair of this year’s RMMA Selection Committee.

“I’m honored to receive this prestigious award. It’s a recognition how the power of journalism changed government policies to help the lives of injured veterans,” says the 2016 RMMA Recipient, Richard Madan.


Madan worked as a policy aide to various MPs on Parliament Hill while studying Political Science at Carleton University. But soon thereafter, he realized his calling lay elsewhere and began freelance reporting for various print newspapers in the national capital region. In 2000, Madan moved to Winnipeg, Manitoba, to be the Legislature Reporter for the Global News team, then the CBC.

In 2005, Madan returned to Ontario joining CityNews as the station’s Political Specialist based in Toronto. In 2010, he joined CTV National News as a Parliamentary Correspondent, covering federal politics, policy, and national elections.

In 2016, Madan accepted the position of Washington, DC, Correspondent for CTV News, a position he currently holds.

An accomplished journalist, Madan has covered dozens of events at home and abroad. Of note, is his in-​depth coverage of ill and injured Canadian ArmedForces personnel returning from Afghanistan and the challenges they face when suffering from a Post-​Traumatic Stress Injury (PTSI).

Through these reports on veteran issues, Madan contributed to changes in regulations, policies, awareness and better treatment of veterans and their families and all those affected by PTSI.

The Ross Munro Media Award commemorates Ross Munro, the celebrated Canadian war correspondent who reported on the Second World War in Europe. The Award was initiated by the Conference of Defence Associations and the CDA Institute in 2002 to recognize Canadian journalists who have made a significant and extraordinary contribution to increasing public understanding of Canadian security and defence matters. Recipients of the award have produced outstanding work regarding the efforts of the Canadian Armed Forces in preserving Canadian democratic values. The award consists of a replica of the Ross Munro statue and a cheque for $2,000.

Previous recipients of the Award are Stephen Thorne (2002), Garth Pritchard (2003), Sharon Hobson (2004), Bruce Campion-​Smith (2005), Christie Blatchford (2006), Matthew Fisher (2007), Alec Castonguay (2008), Brian Stewart (2009), Murray Brewster (2010), Rosie DiManno (2011), Adam Day (2012), (there was no recipient for 2013), Louie Palu (2014), and Christina MacLean (2015).

The Selection Committee was chaired by Vice-​Admiral Denis Rouleau (Ret’d), Chair of the Conference of Defence Associations (CDA). Members of the Selection Committee were Jamie Carroll, CDA Institute Board Member; Francoise Gagnon, ADGA; Daniel Gosselin, CDA Institute Chair of the BOD; Grant McDonald, KPMG; Christina MacLean, Front-​Line Defence magazine; and Stuart Robertson, O’Donnell, Robertson & Sanfilippo.

The award wad presented on Thursday, 16 February 2017, during the first day of the jointly-​organized CDA and CDA Institute’s Ottawa Conference on Security and Defence to be held at the Shaw Centre.

Please direct any enquiries regarding the Ross Munro Media Award (RMMA) to Tony Battista, Chief Executive Officer of the CDA and the CDA Institute, at

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons