Ross Munro Award Guidelines

The 2015 Ross Munro Media Award (RMMA) – Guidelines and Selection Criteria


Awarding Organizations

Awarded by the Conference of Defence Associations Institute (CDA Institute) in partnership with the Canadian Global Affairs Institute (CGAI).



Date for receipt of nominations is 4 December 2016

Selection committee meeting and awarding nlt mid-January 2016

Awarded on 18 February 2016 on the first day of the CDA and CDA Institute annual Ottawa Conference on Security and Defence.



The RMMA was initiated in 2002 by the Conference of Defence Associations and transferred to the CDA Institute in 2014. The Award commemorates Ross Munro, the Canadian Press lead war correspondent in Europe during the Second World War. The RMMA has been awarded on an annual basis to one Canadian journalist for his or her outstanding work in bringing to the notice of Canadians issues of security and defence.

Previous recipients of the award are Stephen Thorne, Garth Pritchard, Sharon Hobson, Bruce Campion-Smith, Christie Blatchford, Matthew Fisher, Alec Castonguay, Brian Stewart, Murray Brewster, Rosie DiManno, Adam Day and Louie Palu.


Selection Criteria and Process

The winning nominee will be a Canadian journalist who has made a significant and extraordinary contribution to increasing Canadian public understanding of security and defence issues.

Only Canadian journalists are eligible. They may be working in Canada or abroad for a Canadian or foreign news organization, or working independently. Nominees need not necessarily report on exclusively Canadian security and defence matters.

Starting this year, past winners of the Ross Munro Media Award may be nominated for a Lifetime Achievement Award. The nomination process is the same – however, the work and materials cited in the nomination must date from the time period following the previous award.

Nominations may be made by individuals who are not members of the Selection Committee, or by organizations, and must be submitted in either of Canada’s official languages. All nominations must consist of a clear summary of the reasons for the nomination, at least two letters of support and include examples of their work. Electronic submissions are preferred.

Significance: The body of work must be considered as having had an important role in educating Canadians on matters of national and international security and defence, the Canadian Armed Forces, and their impact on Canadian society. It may take various forms so long as it helps increase understanding of security and defence matters and the role of Canada’s Armed Forces. The work will have been widely acclaimed as significant.

Research:The body of work must show clear evidence of research and be considered noteworthy for its objective analysis.

Media: The entries may be selected from print and electronic media. The award will credit work distinguished by its style and clarity. Work produced collaboratively may be considered only if the individual who contributed the most to it is identified and merits individual credit and recognition for the work.



The winner of the annual RMMA receives $2500 and a statuette in the likeness of Ross Munro.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons