Nominations Ross Munro Media Award

Initiated in 2002 to recognize Canadian journalists who have made a significant and extraordinary contribution to increasing public understanding of security and defence issues of importance to Canada and Canadians, the RMMA commemorates Ross Munro, the celebrated Canadian war correspondent who reported on the Second World War in Europe.

Recipients of the award will have produced outstanding work regarding security and defence and the role of the Canadian Armed Forces at home and abroad. The award consists of a statuette in the likeness of Ross Munro and $2,000.

The nominees’ body of work must be considered as having had a key role in educating Canadians on matters of national and/or international security and defence and on the role of the Canadian Armed Forces. The work will have been widely acclaimed as significant, be distinguished by its style and clarity, show clear evidence of research, and be considered noteworthy for its objective analysis. The entries may be selected from print and electronic media. Work produced collaboratively may be considered only if the individual who contributed the most to it is identified and merits individual credit and recognition for the work.

Past winners of the RMMA may be nominated for a Lifetime Achievement Award. The nomination process is the same – however, the work and materials cited in the nomination must date from the time following the previous award, which may be referenced. Lifetime Achievement Awards will be considered and then awarded in addition to the Annual Award.

Who can submit a nomination?

Nominations may be made by individuals who are not members of the Selection Committee, or by organizations, and must be submitted in either of Canada’s official languages.

Simple Steps to Submitting your Nomination

  1. Fill out Nomination Form: RM Nomination Form 2018
  2. All nominations must consist of a clear summary of the reasons for the nomination, at least two letters of support and include examples of their work.
  3. Biography of the Nominee
  4. Adhere to Nomination Deadline of 31 December 2018.
  5. Submit your nomination via;

Ross Munro Media Award Selection Committee
Conference of Defence Associations and CDA Institute
900-75 Albert Street,
Ottawa, ON, K1P 5E7

Please note: Electronic submissions are preferred.

Should you require any further information please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Jennifer Pitre
Director of Operations
CDA Institute

Previous recipients of the Ross Munro Media Award

Stephen Thorne,
Garth Pritchard
Sharon Hobson
Bruce Campion-Smith
Christie Blatchford
Matthew Fisher
Alec Castonguay
Brian Stewart
Murray Brewster
Rosie Di Manno
Adam Day
Louie Palu
Chris MacLean
Richard Maddan
Nicolas Laffont

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons