Vimy Award Call for Nominations 2024

Vimy Award
Call for Nominations 2024

Established in 1991, the Vimy Award recognizes a Canadian who has made significant, outstanding and enduring contribution to the defence and security of our nation and the preservation of our democratic values.
The Vimy Award is presented during Remembrance Week at the Annual Vimy Gala, this year taking place November 6, 2024 at the Canadian Museum of War, Ottawa, ON.
The award honours the bravery and sacrifice of the Canadian soldiers – comprising the four divisions of the Canadian Corps – who were victorious in the battle of Vimy Ridge in April 1917.

Nomination Procedure

  • Candidate must be a Canadian Citizen
  • Laureate must be available to attend in person the Vimy Gala taking place November 6, 2024 at Canadian War Museum, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. 



  • Has made an impactful and significant contribution in the promotion of defence, peace and security during their professional career (whether in government, military, academia, NGOs, or the private sector).
  • Is a role model for all Canadians through their transformational leadership.
  • Is an inspiration for a lifetime of service to the nation.
  • Has garnered national and/or international recognition for their accomplishments in the field of defence and security, in the pursuit of values including peace, human dignity and security, the respect for international law and norms, and the promotion and protection of democratic institutions.

Nominators are asked to inform their nominees of their intent to nominate them and confirm their willingness to accept the award should they be selected. The nominator should also validate with their nominee that there would be no real or perceived conflict of interest in accepting the award.

It is the responsibility of the nominator to validate that their nominees fulfil the eligibility criteria described above and for ensuring that the file is complete and  accurate to allow the Vimy Award Selection Committee to fairly evaluate the nomination in fulfilment of the Award Criteria. Incomplete files will not be retained.

All submissions for the Vimy Award are considered in confidence by the Vimy Award Selection Committee, and nominations will not be publicly disclosed, with the exception of the nominator of the laureate, who will be invited to attend the Vimy Gala free of charge and will be thanked publicly during the event.

Nominations are to contain the following documentation;

  • Completed online Submission Form
  • Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae / biographical summary
  • Letter of nomination

Nomination and supporting letters should provide real examples and personal insight into the way the candidate is perceived by someone who has observed the candidate’s significant contributions to the advancement and support of Canada’s national security.

Submissions Deadline: August 1st, 2024

Vimy Award Laureates (1991-2023)

1991 Joe Clark, Right Honourable | 1992 John de Chastelain, General |1993 Lewis MacKenzie, Major-General |1994 William Howard, Major-General | 1995 Roméo Dallaire, Major-Général |1996 Jack Granatstein, Doctor | 1997 Brian Dickson, Right Honourable | 1998 Larry Murray, Vice-Admiral | 1999 Charles H. Belzile, Lieutenant-général | 2000 Barnett Danson, Right Honourable | 2001 Leonard Birchall, Air Commodore | 2002 John Allen Fraser, Colonel, the Honourable | 2003 Paul David Manson, General | 2004 David Bercuson, Doctor | 2005 Gordon Hamilton Southam |  2006 David Fraser, Brigadier-General | 2007 Ray Henault, General | 2008 Rick Hillier, General | 2009 William Kenneth MacDonald, Warrant Officer | 2010 Adrienne Clarkson, Right Honourable | 2011 Jonathan Vance, Major-General | 2012 Federick Mannix, Honorary Colonel | 2013 Don Macnamara, Brigadier-General | 2014 Blake Goldring, Honorary Colonel | 2015 Hugh Segal, Senator | 2016 James Boutilier, Doctor | 2017 William Graham, Right Honourable | 2018 Christine Whitecross, Lieutenant-General | 2019 Richard Fadden, OC |2020 J.O. Michel Maisonneuve, Lieutenant-général | 2023 Ambassador Jacqueline O’Neill

Any questions on submitting a Vimy Award nomination, please contact Jennifer Giguere at


In order to personalize your user experience, CDA Institute uses strictly necessary cookies and similar technologies to operate this site. See details here.