OTTAWA, ON, JANUARY 25th, 2018 – The Conference of Defence Associations (CDA) and the CDA Institute are pleased to announce that, in a unanimous decision by a selection committee of 6 members, Nicolas Laffont, has been selected as the recipient of the CDA Institute Ross Munro Media Award for 2017.

Canadian journalists continue to play a crucial role in our open society, and we are delighted that this year’s recipient, Nicolas Laffont, has gained the respect and recognition of the Francophone community as he covered important security and defence issues, and continues in the best example set by Ross Munro

Denis Rouleau

Chair of the Conference of Defence Associations Executive and Chair of this year's RMMA Selection Committee, Conference of Defence Associations


Nicolas Laffont first reported on the Canadian Armed Forces as a freelance journalist in 2011. Since then, he has founded 45e in February 2012, a medium in which several Canadian collaborators contribute. This portal on military news and defense provides a mirror for military personnel to see themselves within society in addition to a bridge to Canadian citizens, reminding them daily that their Armed Forces are at their service.

Nicolas’s reports are based on extensive research, which included hundreds and hundreds of interviews, from the young recruit to the Minister of Defense, made during numerous visits to Canadian troops deployed operationally outside the country and frequent meetings in Canada.

An accomplished journalist and founder of a unique media outlet on his market, his interventions have enabled Francophones to better understand the military, their institution and their efforts to fulfill the missions given by their government.  His journalism has also included regular reports on veterans and the organizations whose mandate is to provide care and services to veterans as well as expansive coverage of Officer Cadets at the two Canadian Military Colleges.  In both cases, he has substantially improved the general understanding of these two key areas of military life as well as support to their success.

The Ross Munro Media Award commemorates Ross Munro, the celebrated Canadian war correspondent who reported on the Second World War in Europe. The Award was initiated by the Conference of Defence Associations and the CDA Institute in 2002 to recognize Canadian journalists who have made a significant and extraordinary contribution to increasing public understanding of Canadian security and defence matters. Recipients of the award have produced outstanding work regarding the efforts of the Canadian Armed Forces in preserving Canadian democratic values. The award consists of a replica of the Ross Munro statue and a cheque for $2,000.

Previous recipients of the Award are Stephen Thorne (2002), Garth Pritchard (2003), Sharon Hobson (2004), Bruce Campion-Smith (2005), Christie Blatchford (2006), Matthew Fisher (2007), Alec Castonguay (2008), Brian Stewart (2009), Murray Brewster (2010), Rosie DiManno (2011), Adam Day (2012), (there was no recipient for 2013), Louie Palu (2014), Christina MacLean (2015) and Richard Madan (2016).

The Selection Committee was chaired by Vice-Admiral Denis Rouleau (Retired), Chair of the Conference of Defence Associations (CDA). Members of the Selection Committee were: Francoise Gagnon, ADGA; Major-General Daniel Gosselin (Retired), CDA Institute Chair of the BOD; Chris Henderson, ADM(PA); Grant McDonald, KPMG; and Stuart Robertson, O’Donnell, Robertson & Sanfilippo.

The award will be presented on Thursday, 22 February 2018, during the first day of the jointly-organized CDA and CDA Institute’s Ottawa Conference on Security and Defence to be held at the Chateau Laurier.

Please direct any enquiries regarding the Ross Munro Media Award (RMMA) to Matthew Overton, Executive Director of the CDA and the CDA Institute, at

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons