Montreal Climate Security Summit 2023

Energy Transition | Greening Defence | Displacement/ Migration | The Arctic | Maritime Security NATO Climate Security Action Plan Emergency Response

The 2nd Annual Montreal Climate Security Summit will be held on November 1-2, 2023.

Watch live and interact with panelists.

Registration is free. By registering you will have access to all virtual programming as well as the in-person panel (Panel 4) and cocktail reception in Montreal.


In person:

Panel 4 and cocktail reception: Nov 1, 16:00-18:30 EST |  600 De Maisonneuve Blvd. West, Suite 1700, Montréal, QC, H3A 0A3

 The Montreal Climate Security Summit is an annual international meeting at the intersection of the security and environmental sectors. It specifically addresses climate change as not only an ecological emergency, but as an international security threat and risk multiplier. It brings together security professionals, scientists, senior public servants and policy-makers, and youth leaders from around the world.

The Value of Attending:

Expand your knowledge base of trends, policies, and strategies, and receive the most timely analysis to develop innovative policy and new business development strategies. 

Bring your expertise and experience to bear on the conversation. This is an open forum meant to facilitate solutions thinking. It is an opportunity to engage with our speakers and ask questions that challenge the status quo.

We are highlighting young professionals.


All moderator roles at the Montreal Climate Security Summit are being taken up by students and young professionals. Our goal is to generate intergenerational dialogue and provide a space for youth to share their perspectives, ideas, and recommendations.

Our full speaker list will be announced shortly

Robert Mardini

Director-General of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)

Dr. Juergen Voegele

Vice President, Sustainable Development, World Bank

Lieutenant General Richard Nugee

Non-Executive Director for Climate Change and Sustainability, UK

Rob Chambers

Assistant Deputy Minister (Infrastructure & Environment), DND

Erin Sikorsky

Director, The Center for Climate and Security

MGen Simon Bernard

Chief of Staff, Canadian Joint Operations Command

Katarina Kertysova

Policy Officer, Climate Security, Emerging Security Challenges Division, NATO

Andrew McHardy

Partner & Decarbonization Hub Leader | KPMG Canada

Dr. Simon Dalby

Professor Emeritus at Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Yan Denghua

Director of Department of Water Resources, China Institute of Water Resources

Michel C. Doré

National Emergency Management Advisor, St. John Ambulance

Lieutenant-Colonel Dan Doran

Former Commanding Officer of 34 Combat Engineer Regiment, Canadian Armed Forces

Dr. Sandro Carniel

Oceanographer, Head of Research Division at Centre for Maritime Research and Experimentation, NATO.

Irune Echevarria

Environment and Climate Action Specialist at Cuso International.

Dr. Lassi Heininen

Professor, Emeritus, University of Lapland

Alice C. Hill

David M. Rubenstein Senior Fellow for Energy and the Environment, Council on Foreign Relations

James Kuptana

Manager, Environment and Wildlife ᐃᓄᐃᑦ ᑕᐱᕇᑦ ᑲᓇᑕᒥ / Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami

Dr. Aditi Mukherji

Director, Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation Impact Action Platform of CGIAR.

Marisol Maddox

Senior Arctic Analyst, Polar Institute

Jane Nakano

Senior Fellow, Energy Security and Climate Change Program

Dr. Heather Exner-Pirot

Director of Energy, Natural Resources and Environment program at Macdonald-Laurier Institute

Diego Osorio

Fellow, Weatherhead Scholars Programme, Centre for Int. Affairs, Harvard University

Dr. Andrea Charron

Associate Professor, University of Manitoba

Dr. P. Whitney Lackenbauer

CDA Institute Senior Fellow

Alain Vaillancourt

City councilor, Executive committee member, City of Montreal

Kristen Gill

SVP, RBC Partnerships & Aviva Direct

Mathieu Bussiéres

Director, Climate Change and Security Centre of Excellence (CCASCOE)

Adam Lajeunesse

Associate Professor, St. Francis Xavier University

Young Professional Moderators

Pauline Baudu

Fellow, CDA Institute

Daphné Beaudoin

Law student, Université du Québec à Montréal

Allison Brown

Visiting Fulbright Canada Fellow -- Queen's University CIDP

Dina Mirza

Science Policy Analyst at Defence Research and Development Canada

Michael Hosken

Policy Officer, Defence Reserach and Development Canada

Sofia Kabbej

Associate Researcher French Institute of International and Strategic Affairs (IRIS)

Larry Ibrahim Mohammed

UiT Arctic University of Norway

Megan Scheidl

Research Coordinator, CDA Institute


In order to personalize your user experience, CDA Institute uses strictly necessary cookies and similar technologies to operate this site. See details here.